Genius Hour Update

This week, I tried to make clotted cream which the English typically use on bread and muffins. I thought I was going to be great at this but I was wrong. Here is why.

The first image was when I mixed sour cream, half and half and melted butter together. The recipe called for heavy whipping cream but I did not have that so I searched up how to substitute the cream for half and half, and it said that if you mix melted butter with it, it should work. Although that was not the case for mine. It was supposed to be fluffy once the mixing was finished but it looked like soup so I put it in the freezer for a night, took it out the next morning and it was frozen so I put it into the microwave for about a minute. After I took it out it looked like cottage cheese and tasted gross. The sour cream was overpowering and the way the mixture was textured it didn’t turn out to be a fluffy cream consistancy. Next time I will definitely just go to the store and pick up heavy whipping cream so I can feed the “good result” to my family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *